Don’t be afraid to give all to Jesus!

+JMJ

Sometimes it’s frightening to think that to who much is given, much is expected, and that God might be asking something difficult from us. Recently I’ve been thinking about the idea that when God asks us to do something, He always gives the grace for us to accomplish it. He doesn’t leave us alone to fulfill His Will, because He knows we are weak. If we only try to cooperate with His grace honestly, He would provide all that we need. As Our Lord said, without Him we can do nothing.

I also came across a quote by St Teresa of Avila that made me think. God had called her to something difficult, which was entering a monastery. She describes her efforts to stay there despite hardship:

“Though I could not at first bend my will to be a nun, I saw that the religious state was the best and safest. And thus, by little and little, I resolved to force myself into it. The struggle lasted three months. … When I took the habit, Our Lord at once made me understand how He helps those who do violence to themselves, in order to serve Him, I was filled with a joy so great that it has never failed me to this day.”

Even though God gives us all the grace we need, sometimes we don’t notice it in our lives automatically but we need to put in effort to cooperate with it. Through this cooperation, God gives more graces to help us advance in holiness. Although this quote can seem overwhelming because it shows we need to do violence to ourselves, it can also help to prepare us for the cross. Sometimes part of the battle is just accepting that there will be crosses and not trying to flee from them, and that can bring a lot of peace in our suffering.

Leave a Reply

